#48 Offering Someone Your Seat

#48 Yesterday happened to be the day of offering someone my seat. We went out for breakfast for my birthday and there was an empty seat. I was about to sit down when I realized there was probably someone else who needed it more than I. I looked through the crowd, offered it to an elderly couple, and they were happy to take it. Last night, again, as I was about to sit down on BART there was an older lady who was having difficulty walking. I pointed out my seat and held it for her.

Action you can take: Look around, notice if there is someone who might need a seat more than you. Remember your manners and offer it to them. Gently insist that you’re fine standing.

Leave a Reply

